Irish Local History
The catalog contains 28 items. Drop search results and show the complete catalog.
|Allen F.P.M., D.H. The Presentation Brothers, Volume 1: Under the authority of the Bishops, 1802-1889. Cork, (Private Publication), 1993. 15 cm x 21.5 cm. 254 pages. Original softcover. Excellent condition with only very minor signs of external wear.
Includes for example the following essays: Edmund Rice; His Birth, Youth and Early Manhood / Edmund’s Religous Vocation / The Society of the Presentation / A New Beginning Douglas Street / The South Monastery and Lancasterian Schools / Westward to Killarney / Missionary Efforts of the 1840s / Killarney to Milltown / The Riordan Brothers / Greenmount / The Brothers and National Education / Papal Approval / St Brendan’s Birr / Presentation College Cork / South Monastery, 1848 – 1889 etc.
Keywords: Education, Irish History, Irish Local History, Irish Religion, Irish Religion & Church History, Irish Religious History, Religion, Religious Groups, self-published
|Bennett, George. The History of Bandon. And the Principal Towns in the West Riding of County Cork. Cork, Francis Guy, Printer and Publisher / Fercor Press, 1973. 16,5 cm x 23,3 cm. Frontispiece – Portrait, VIII, 572 pages. Orgiinal Hardcover with gilt lettering on spine. Excellent condition with only very minor signs of external wear.
Keywords: Bandon, Irish History, Irish Local History, West Cork
|Brunicardi, Niall. John Anderson of Fermoy: The Forgotten Benefactor. Being a Paper Read to the Fermoy Field Club, 23 January 1980, with Illustrations and Further Material Annexed. Fermoy, Eigse na Mainistreach Publications, 1980. 14 cm x 21 cm. VI, 45 pages including photographs and illustrations. Original softcover pamphlet. Excellent condition with minor signs of external wear. Some browning of end pages. Fading along spine. Inscription by preowner. Otherwise clean inside with intact staple binding.
Includes the following essays: The Forgotten Benefactor / The Story of the Mail Coach / The Charleston Maltings / The New Town of Fermoy / Provision for Religion / The Bridge Widened / The Post Office / The Military Establishment / The Man of Affairs / Lord Edward / Fermoy’s First Dispensary and Hospital / Schools and Industries / The Banker / Last Known Transaction / Family Man / Summary / Appreciation / Annex A: Anderson to Marsden, letter and accompanying handbill / Annex B: The Anderson Family / Annex C: Minutes of Meeting of Creditors, with biographical notes / Annex D: Obituaries / Annex E: Sa Mhainistir La, and translation One Day in Fermoy / Sources and Further Reading.
Keywords: Cork, Fermoy, Irish History, Irish Interest, Irish Local History, John Anderson
|Brunicardi, Niall. The Bridge at Fermoy. Fermoy, Eigse Books, 1985. 15 cm x 21 cm. 14 pages including several illustrations. Original softcover pamphlet. Excellent condition with only very minor signs of external wear. A couple of faint stains on back cover. Inscription by preowner. Otherwise clean inside with intact staple binding. [Fermoy Heritage Series No. 3]
Includes the following sections: The Monastery Ford / The “Great” Earl of Cork / The So-Called Battle of Manning Ford Ends at the Ford of the Monastery / Cromwell’s March / The Death March / The Bridges is Widened / The Modern Bridge / Sources.
Keywords: Cork, Fermoy, Irish History, Irish Local History, Robert Boyle
|Carey, Maurice. Saint Fin Barre’s Cathedral: A Short Guide. Cork, Maurice Carey, No date (c.1980). 14.5 cm x 21 cm. 10 pages. Original softcover pamphlet. Excellent condition with only very minor signs of external wear.
Includes for example the following sections: A Sacred Site / The Medieval Cathedral / The Central Portal / The Font / The Nave / The North Aisle / The South Aisle / The Bishop’s Throne / The Sanctuary / The Painted Roof / The Organ / The Ambulatory David’s Door etc.
Keywords: Architecture, Cork City, Irish History, Irish Interest, Irish Local History, St Finbarr
|Carville, Geraldine. Chorus Sancti Benedicti, Mainistir Na Corann, Midleton 1180 – 1980. Midleton, Mainistir Na Corann, 1980. 21 cm x 29 cm. 28 pages. Original softcover pamphlet. Excellent condition with minor signs of external wear.
Includes for example the following essays: Foreword by John Rea, P.P. / Chorus Sancti Benedicti – but who was Saint Benedict? / The Arrival of the Cistercians in Ireland and to Mainistir na Corann / The Site for Mainistir na Corann – Chore Abbey / The Monastic Estate / The Laybrothers and the Granges / Monastic Hospitality / The Abbots / The Decline of the Cistercians in Medieval Ireland etc.
Keywords: Benedictine, Cistercian, Irish History, Irish Interest, Irish Local History, Irish Religion, Irish Religion & Church History, Irish Religious History, Religion, Religious Groups
|Christie, Luttrellstown Castle, Clonsilla, Co. Dublin, Ireland. Volume 1: Objects of Art, Furniture, Pictures, Silver, Porcelain and Linen. London, Christie, Manson & Woods, 1983. 21 cm x 26 cm. 274 pages. Original Hardcover with dustjacket and protective Myla covering. Catalgue with price list from auction 26-28th Septmber 1983 loosely inserted. Very good condition with only minor signs of external wear.
Luttrellstown Castle, dating from the early 15th century (c. 1420), is located in Clonsilla on the outskirts of Dublin, Ireland. It has been owned variously by the eponymous and notorious Luttrell family, by the bookseller Luke White and his descendants Baron Annaly, by the Guinness family, the Primwest Group, and since 2006, by JP McManus, John Magnier and Aidan Brooks. The castle has hosted visits by Queen Victoria in 1844 and 1900, and its media profile was raised when Victoria Adams married David Beckham there on 4 July 1999. Luttrellstown and its remaining 560-acre (2.3 km2) demesne currently form a 5-star resort, with a golf course, country club and unique location just outside the city boundaries of Dublin. The castle was started by Sir Geoffrey Luttrell, the 5th Lord Luttrell, who was born about 1385. Sir Thomas Luttrell was Chief Justice of the Irish Common Pleas, 1534-1554, and actively involved in the dissolution of the monasteries. He acquired the lands of St Mary’s Abbey at Coolmine. In 1927 the estate was bought by Ernest Guinness, as a wedding present for his daughter, Aileen Guinness, who married a cousin, Brinsley Sheridan Plunket. Aileen Plunket entertained on a grand scale. The castle became the site of hunt balls and other lavish social events. Her niece, Lady Caroline Blackwood wrote of growing up in that atmosphere in her book, Great Granny Webster. (Wikipedia).
Keywords: Irish Art, Irish Castles, Irish History, Irish Local History
|Crawford Municipal Art Gallery. “Got Cork”: an exhibition on the occasion of the centenary of William Burges 1827-1881, architect of St. Finbarre’s Cathedral. Cork, Crawford Municipal Art Gallery, 1981. 14.5 cm x 21 cm. 24 pages. Original softcover pamphlet. Excellent condition with minor signs of external wear. Some discolouration of cover. Clean inside with intact staple binding.
Includes for example the following catalogue descriptions: Delmott, Harry, fl.1915, ascribed to St. Fin Barre / Map of Cork 1570 / Speed John, 1552-1629. The province of Munster in the 17th century / Seal of the Deans of Cork / Chapter book 1666-1694 / Map of cathedral close 1797 / Roe, William, fl. 1827-1852. Four views of Cork including St Fin Barre’s from the north east 1844 etc.
Keywords: Church History, Cork, Cork City, Irish History, Irish Interest, Irish Local History, St Finbarr
|Donovan, Daniel. Sketches in Carbery, County Cork. Its Antiquities, History, Legends and Topography. Facsimile of the 1876 first edition. Cork, Miros Press, 1973. 12.5 cm x 18 cm. IX, 244 pages. Original softcover. Excellent condition with only minor signs of external wear.
Includes for Example: Old Milesian Families who settled in Carbery/ Skibbereen/ Dunmanway/ Clonakilty/ Kilbrittan Castle/ Ecclesiastical Ruins and Castles/ Baltimore/ Sir Thomas Crooke/ Algerine Invasion of Baltimore/ Lord Baltimore/ Migration of the O’Driscolls to Spain/ Battle of Rath/ Ilen River/ Abbey de Sancto Mauro/ Abbeystrewery/ St. Fachtnan First Bishop of Rosscarbery/ Innisherkin/ Franciscan Abbey/ Carptain Harvey/ Cape Clear/ The Gasconane Sound/ The Skeams/ Lough Hyne- the rapids, the lake, surrounding mountains, legend about the old castle/ Bill Barrett’s midnight visit in search of the golden treasure hidden beneath the castle/ Labhra Loingseach/ Bridget’s Chapel and Well at Lough Hyne/ Castlehaven/ Don Pedro de Zuibar/ The O’Donovans/ Castle Ivor/ Blind Harbour/ Dean Swift/ John Collins of Myross/ Castle Donovan/ The Cistercian Abbey of Carrigilehy/ Squince House, seat of the Clanloughlin O’Donovans/ Glandore/ Drs. Todd and Joyce/ Glandore Castle/ The Fisheries/ Lis-an-Earla and the legend of Tir-Na-Nogue/ Lough Adereen and the floating islands/ Philosopher Thompson and the cooperative communities/ Pouladuv/ Ballyverine House/ Coppinger’s Court/ Sir Walter Coppinger/ Benduff Castle/ The Morrises – Penn/ Rosscarbery/ Dr. Lynch, Kilalla/ Rev. John Power/ Ross Graveyard/ St. Brendan/ Hanmer and Camden on Ross/ Toumpleen-na-Fachna etc.
Keywords: Cork, Irish History, Irish Interest, Irish Local History, Topography, West Cork
|Ferris, Tom. Irish Railways: A New History. Dublin, Gill & Macmillan, 2009. 13 cm x 19.5 cm. X, 238 pages including many photographs and illustrations. Original softcover. Excellent condition with minor signs of external wear. Some discolouration on cover and page-edges. Clean inside with intact binding.
Includes the following chapters: A Faltering Start / The National Network Emerges / How Ireland Got its Gauge / Consolidation and Expansion (1850 – 1880) / The Rise and Fall of Narrow Gauge / The Golden Age of Ireland’s Railways (1880 – 1914) / All Change (1914 – 1950) / Back from the Brink.
Keywords: Irish History, Irish Interest, Irish Local History, Irish Railway, Railway, Transportation
Entries 1–10 of 28
Back · Advance