Free Shipping Worldwide – for purchases over 60 Euros!

Crawford Municipal Art Gallery. “Got Cork”: an exhibition on the occasion of the…

Crawford Municipal Art Gallery. “Got Cork”: an exhibition on the occasion of the centenary of William Burges 1827-1881, architect of St. Finbarre’s Cathedral. Cork, Crawford Municipal Art Gallery, 1981. 14.5 cm x 21 cm. 24 pages. Original softcover pamphlet. Excellent condition with minor signs of external wear. Some discolouration of cover. Clean inside with intact staple binding.

Includes for example the following catalogue descriptions: Delmott, Harry, fl.1915, ascribed to St. Fin Barre / Map of Cork 1570 / Speed John, 1552-1629. The province of Munster in the 17th century / Seal of the Deans of Cork / Chapter book 1666-1694 / Map of cathedral close 1797 / Roe, William, fl. 1827-1852. Four views of Cork including St Fin Barre’s from the north east 1844 etc.

”″Got Cork”, wrote William Burges excitedly in his diary in 1863. What he meant was that he ahd won the competition for a design for a new St Fin Barre’s Cathedral. He had won it in the face of 67 competitors from Great Britain and the Continent. // The new cathedral was to be built on an ancient site where Cork city began, though few remains of its early beginnings survived. There had been a medieval building, its appearance and lay-out conjetured from old engravings and chapter books. Some fragments of carved stone survive.” (from Introduction by Maurice Carey)

Our price: EUR 35,-- 

Crawford Municipal Art Gallery.
Crawford Municipal Art Gallery. “Got Cork”: an exhibition on the occasion of the